Boston Louie Memorial

The Boston Louie Memorial race is held in honor of one of the most accomplished midget & sprint car owners, Hall of Famer Louie Seymour, who passed away in September of 1996. The race is 29 laps in length in honor of Seymour’s car number. It has become the premiere race on the Northeastern Midget Association schedule every year.

It debuted at Seekonk Speedway during the 1997 season and was held there until 2001. From 2002-2004 it was held at the Waterford Speedbowl as part of their annual Nostalgia Weekend event. The Boston Louie returned to Seekonk in 2005, first as part of the Open Wheel Wednesday event (2005-2019) and since 2021 as a stand alone event.

Randy Cabral has won a record 4 Boston Louie Memorial races. Jeff Abold is a 3-time winner which he did in consecutive seasons (2009-2011). Avery Stoehr is also a 3-time winner (2019, 2022, 2023). Joey Payne, Ben Seitz and Doug Coby have all won twice.

In 2008, the NEMA Lites were added to the event, also running a 29 lap race. Lites were increased to 33 laps in 2017 in honor of the late sprint car driver Dave Steele, then increased again in 2019 to a 50 lap race.

P.J. Stergios won 3 straight NEMA Lite races (2013-2015) and a record 4 times overall. Jake Trainor (2021, 2023) is the only other driver to win Boston Louie Lite race more than once.

The 2011 Boston Louie Memorial NEMA race at Seekonk Speedway


1997 29 RUSS STOEHR n/a Seekonk Speedway
1998 29 DREW FORNORO n/a Seekonk Speedway
1999 29 BOBBY SEYMOUR n/a Seekonk Speedway
2000 29 RANDY CABRAL n/a Seekonk Speedway
2001 29 JEFF HORN n/a Seekonk Speedway
2002 29 BOBBY SANTOS III n/a Waterford Speedbowl
2003 29 JOEY PAYNE n/a Waterford Speedbowl
2004 29 BEN SEITZ n/a Waterford Speedbowl
2005 29 JOEY PAYNE n/a Seekonk Speedway
2006 29 NOKIE FORNORO n/a Seekonk Speedway
2007 29 BEN SEITZ n/a Seekonk Speedway
2008 29 RANDY CABRAL 29 SHAUN GOSSELIN Seekonk Speedway
2009 29 JEFF ABOLD 29 ANTHONY MARVUGLIO Seekonk Speedway
2010 29 JEFF ABOLD 29 ANTHONY NOCELLA Seekonk Speedway
2011 29 JEFF ABOLD 29 DAVID MONIZ Seekonk Speedway
2012 no race held rained out
2013 29 DOUG COBY 29 P.J. STERGIOS Seekonk Speedway
2014 29 RANDY CABRAL 29 P.J. STERGIOS Seekonk Speedway
2015 29 TODD BERTRAND 29 P.J. STERGIOS Seekonk Speedway
2016 29 DOUG COBY 29 JIM CHAMBERS Seekonk Speedway
2017 29 JOHN ZYCH JR 33 DYLAN DUHAIME Seekonk Speedway
2018 29 RANDY CABRAL 33 DAN CUGINI Seekonk Speedway
2019 29 AVERY STOEHR 50 RYAN LOCKE Seekonk Speedway
2020 no race held global pandemic
2021 29 PAUL SCALLY 50 JAKE TRAINOR Seekonk Speedway
2022 29 AVERY STOEHR 50 P.J. STERGIOS Seekonk Speedway
2023 29 AVERY STOEHR 50 JAKE TRAINOR Seekonk Speedway


YouTube player